playlist: HARM WÜLF’s new album HIJRAH

I am not fond of the latest music categories; they confuse me with their multi-hyphenated, trying-to-sound-cool-using-obscure-words titles.

As a result, I have learned to ignore them cause I would hate to miss out on hearing amazing new music like HARM WÜLF’s  (G. Hirsch of Blacklisted) sophomore release HIJRAH from Deathwish Inc. because I felt “meh” about the category label.

This album is perfect for those times when sugary pop sweetness just won’t do.

Hijrah is inspired by a range of artists from the tranquil resonance of Low, to the rhythmic acoustic strumming of Strength Through Joy, the ascending power of Angels Of Light, even calling to the insular/grotesque Americana of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor, etc…

You can listen to it here on Bandcamp Daily before its August 26th release!

#Music Playlist

Playlist: Caravan Palace

Just discovered this Parisian electronic big band Caravan Palace and am so happy their new self-titled album is now out in the U.S on Le Plan Recordings.

Photo credit Antoine Delaporte
Photo credit Antoine Delaporte







Plus, KRCW is streaming the full album here!

Definitely hope to catch them when they tour the U.S. in 2016.



Kendrick Lamar Kills It On The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

Kendrick Lamar has mastered the art of the live performance as his set from The Late Show with Stephen Colbert demonstrates.


Happy Saturday Music Updates

Happy Saturday Music Updates

Lucki Eck$ via Grandstand Media

From Red Bull Sound Select, Chicago’s Lucki Eck$ Weightin’ On featuring Detroit rapper Danny Brown fuses together Lucki Eck$’s nonchalant and laid back style with Brown’s unpretentious hip hop skills with a ghettotech tinge. The collaboration was born out of the two having both performed at Red Bull Sound Select’s: 4 Days in Austin this past March, at which Lucki Eck$ opened for Danny Brown as part of Red Bull Sound Select’s effort to pair emerging artists with headlining acts. The track will be released exclusively through Red Bull Sound Select. Check out the track below on my playlist !


Pallbearer via Stephanie Marlow Publicity

Pallbearer‘s new full-length album, Foundations Of Burden, had its North American release Aug. 19th and is available now. Loving this track “The Ghost I Used To Be” so much that it’s on my playlist, see below.

They are currently on tour, so check the schedule to see if they are nearby cause this album is pretty darn awesome.


Support Derek Archambault via Stephanie Marlow Publicity

Support Derek Archambault‘s  (Defeater and Alcoa) Pledge Music Campaign to fund his desperately needed hip replacement surgery ! 

The Pledge Music campaign provides great reward with donation; Derek has recorded a new EP (appropriately titled Thank You) that is available for only $5 as a digital download and $25 on CD format.  The EP features five tracks, including a new version of Defeater’s “I Don’t Mind”, and acoustic covers of “Shambles” by Make Do And Mend, Blacklisted’s “Stations”, “Young Kerouacs” by I Am The Avalanche, and Elder Brother’s “Who’s Gonna Carry You Home?”  


War on Women via Stepahnie Marlow Publicity

Hardcore Feminist Punk band War on Women is on tour now ! Their “Confess” track is rotating heavily on my playlist. Make sure to see them if you can !


#Music Playlists

Saturday Playlist – August

Saturday Playlist – August

This is the time of the time of the year that the weather in South Florida turns into a hot,swampy mess so I thought this playlist of cool tunes would help me cope for a bit.

Foster The People – Best Friend
SBTRKT – Never Never (feat. Sampha)
Handsome Boy Modeling School – The Truth (feat. Róisín Murphy & J-Live)
RJD2 – Work
Sylvan Esso – H.S.K.T. (Live at WFUV)
Damon Albarn – Everyday Robots (Official Video)
Little Dragon – Constant Surprises (Official Video)
Fleet Foxes – He Doesn’t Know Why (OFFICIAL VIDEO)
The Submarines – 1940 (Amplive Remix)
Poliça – Smug | AllSaints East
Bogan Via – Kanye [Official Music Video]


Happy Monday Music Updates

Happy Monday Music Updates

A Touche Amore

Los Angeles’ Touche Amore have embarked on a summer headliner with Tigers Jaw and Dads in tow.

The Dead Rabbitts

The Dead Rabbits new album Shapshifter comes out on July 1st.

A Skylit Drive

A Skylit Drive has partnered with BryanStars for an acoustic version of their song Rise.

Emma Ruth Rundle


In support of her stunning debut solo album Some Heavy Ocean, singer/songwriter Emma Ruth Rundle has embarked on a U.S. tour.

Sheer Terror

Sheer Terror‘s new album Standing Up for Falling Down releases on July 15th from Reaper Records. Listen to the “The Revenge of Mr. Jiggs” track from this upcoming album on Noisey.

He Is Legend

He is Legend exclusive merch and pre-order of their new album Heavy Fruit is available now.

Cold World
Cold World‘s new track “Hell’s Direction” from their new album How The Gods Chill is streaming now over at Noisey.  This new album will be available on August 5th and is available for pre-order now in the Deathwish E-Store.



Friday Music Updates : 06-06-14


Band to Appear Alongside Planes Mistaken For Stars, Vattnet Viskar, and Others; New Album Available Now

Silver Snakes will be on tour across the U.S. in support of their new album Year of the Snake alongside Aegis, Planes Mistaken For Stars, Vattnet Viskar and others.

Here are the July dates:

Coliseum Deluxe Reissue Double LP/CD Coming August 19th from Deathwish

To celebrate Coliseum’s 10th anniversary, “Coliseum” Deluxe Reissue: A twenty song collection featuring their classic self titled debut album (out of print since 2006) paired with eight essential bonus tracks has been released. For info or to order, click here.

Album Available Next Tuesday From Bridge Nine / Violently Happy


On June 10th, Candy Hearts will release ‘All The Ways You Let Me Down’, which features 11 brand new songs. This new full-length album is sure to be a summer road trip staple for fans of Candy Hearts’ previous work and anyone who likes lyrically driven, upbeat pop songs – listen to the album on

Pre-order All The Ways You Let Me Down now from iTunes with an instant grat of the song “I Miss You” here.

Here are their upcoming tour dates:

10  Chicago, IL @ Beat Kitchen w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
11  Indianapolis, IN @ Irving Theater w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
12  St. Louis, MO @ Fubar w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
13  Lawrence, KS @ Jackpot w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
15  Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
16  SLC, UT @ Loading Dock w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
17  Boise, ID @ The Crux w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
18  Seattle, WA @ El Corazon w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
19  Portland, OR @ Star Theater w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
20  Eugene, OR @ The Boreal w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
22  Sacramento, CA @ The Colony w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
23  Canoga Park, CA @ Cobalt Cafe w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
24  Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
25  San Diego, CA @ Epicentre w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
26  Tempe, AZ @ 51 West w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
27  Roswell, NM @ The Unity Center w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
29  Dallas, TX @ Prophet Bar w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
30  Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Jr. w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly
31  San Antonio, TX @ Ten Eleven w/ Seaway, Stickup Kid, Driver Friendly